Pitying Rush Limbaugh and his idiotic assertion

 

                                                                                                                        

440px-official_portrait_of_barack_obama1rush-limbaugh“I hope he fails.” That was a quote from none other than Rush H. Limbaugh III, the famous ultra-conservative radio talk show host on American airwaves giving his wish about the Obama presidency. “I hope he fails.” I ask to myself, is this man crazy? Well I know the answer and the question is rhetorical. For over the 18 years since I knew of Rush, he is a man that is tragically blinded by his own narrow ideology and if one dissents from his narrow world view it seems he’s incapable from refraining to take personal pot shots at people who sees things differently. I will even dare this strong statement: He is like (no, he is) a Sith—and the Sith only think in absolutes. Let all Star Wars fans understand what I am talking about. I remember in 1992 when Bill Clinton was elected president, what I heard from then U.S. Senate Republican leader Bob Dole saying that, he wanted Bill Clinton “to succeed” in his presidency but somehow in 2009 we have another Republican leader (thankfully not an elected leader but one of the airwaves) who dogmatically asserts, “I hope he fails.” At least Bob Dole was (and I believe he still is) a gentleman in every sense of that word.

But first, I should and need to make some serious confessions about myself in this post. My own mother a few days ago asked me a damn good question, “How is it that you were once a fan of Rush Limbaugh?” Trust me in my early 20’s I drove some people nuts of my fanship of Limbaugh (my dad was not even exempted, neither some people at the church I used to attend or people at my-then workplace at that time). Trust me, as I turn 39 today (yes the last of my thirties on my birthday)—I have grown up and have been through a lot of hard knocks.  I think I am far, far wiser than the naive (but well-meaning) person as I was in my early 20’s. I also think that at time, Rush Limbaugh was filing a void. I was at that time a member of a fundamentalist sect (to be fair which was moderating in it’s hardline stances in which I am eternal grateful but that’s another topic), I was a college graduate but was unemployed for a while, scrimping at various jobs. He was articulating my dissent and anger at the excesses of the left wing which included radical feminism, radical environmentalism, the freewheeling lifestyles of Hollywood’s rich and famous and those who had little care for the traditonal family. I still have no use for the the excesses of the left wing but believe you me, I have co-equally, co-essentially and co-eternally have zero patience for the excesses of the right wing either but Rush does not (because of his stubborn blind ideology) see any excesses in right of centre politics. Actually, he believes the excesses in right of centre politics is a virtue. Wikipedia had said this about Rush and it fits him to a T, “He has loudly criticized political centrists, independents, and even moderate conservatives [like myself], claiming they are responsible for Democrat Barack Obama‘s victory over Republican John McCain in the 2008 U.S. Presidential Election and inviting them to leave the Republican party altogether, while calling for the adoption of hard-line far-right philosophies in order to ensure the survival of the Republican party.[59][60][61]Eventually in 1995, I just stopped listening to Rush altogether. It is not a case of Rush Limbaugh doesn’t get it—he does NOT want to get it. Believe me the difference is important as night and day. At a community “Obama bash” I went to this Saturday afternoon, a woman questioned that me as a conservative (albeit a moderate conservative that Rush hates with a passion) what draws me to President Barack Obama, I explained that President Obama transcends party politics. Those who feel that it’s cliche to say that he’s a transformational leader—tough, the proof is in the pudding!  America is blessed at this time for somebody who dares to look outside the box for a change. Rush in his stupidity, loves his little box and perversely enjoys being imprisoned by it.

To say, “I hope he fails.” Is simply irresponsible. To suggest or even think about Republicans in the House of Representatives and the Senate being “obstructionist” with the President of the United States is not an option. Rush in his narrow ideology believes that the Republicans must seize power,take power for the sake of it. Wrong again! This attitude is the perfect reason that they have lost the White House, Senate and House and if they have not been humbled by it, they richly deserved to be irrelevant in American politics.  Frankly, the Republicans need to be co-operating with the President but at the same time not compromising their principles. As a conservative, I believe that President Obama needs to listen to the voice of fiscal responsiblity and yes, some kind of fiscal restraint when necessary. This is where the Republicans should come in make their case. Does Rush Limbaugh want the the very liberal, tax and spend wing of the Democratic party to call the shots?  This is what the Republicans need to be thinking of and planning to take back either the Senate or the House in 2010 to give Obama fiscal conscience and not to lose it. If Rush is dreaming of a Sarah Palin run 2012, he simply has it all wrong and his priorities still out of whack. For an Obama presidency to fail, would also mean another rough ride for America and America has had enough of the rough rides that it’s been getting in recent months. Frankly, President Obama has the best advice to Republicans: “You can’t just listen to Rush Limbaugh and get things done.” May more Republicans heed this advice and I pray to God  (and I’m serious) that they will go far, very far with that kind of advice. It is a new era and a new chapter in American politics. It’s time for Rush to get on board, but because of his stubborness, he won’t. Pity.

Leave a Reply

